In the mix of the season.


While this time of year gives me so much joy and happiness there is something about it that was never as special as it seem to be for everyone else. Its really mainly because my family was never very holiday spirit until I came around and really I was the one who really pushed it on them. So in a since I never really felt like it was the truest spirit of the season. For us, Christmas is just a time to enjoy the decoration,sales,shopping, and of course family time. The thing that we don’t have with Christmas that everyone else has,….cultural and religious connection. Its only been the past 20 years that my family has been celebrating Christmas in a serious manner..(really because of me..hehehe.) So because of that my parents never had a huge connection with the classic cartoons, the traditions (until now,),and pretty much any other things about Christmas. They enjoy it but thats it. The holiday that really hits home for us is the Lunar (Chinese) New Year. I realized this when I was watching Kung Fu Panda’s Holiday where they talk about the typical family thing and how the hustle of the season can over shadow the true reason for the season…. I really can relate to this specific holiday movie is because that it is implied that is “Winter Holiday” they are having is heavily inspired from the Lunar New Year. LNY does have cultural and religious connection to us so we do take time (all of us) to truly enjoy the festive time of year. Christmas is one of my favorite times of year but what I truly hold near and dear to my heart is the Lunar New Year.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment